Well, it’s that time of the year again. Turkey Day! Everyone will eat more food and more leftovers than last year even if they promised that they will “never eat that much ever again”. Families will gather and depart.
Many people are now practicing the, “Send a Thanksgiving card to beat those who send Christmas cards.” Yeah, that’s a good idea. Instead of sending an insincere Christmas card, you can send an insincere Thanksgiving card. Not everyone sends an insincere holiday card. But many have a “list,” and they send a card to everyone on it no matter what.
What Thanksgiving is really all about is giving thanks; or maybe better put, saying thanks.
How do you say thanks?
Go into any retail store and most of the time a clerk will say, “Thanks and have a nice day.” Do they only mean that day? If I didn’t buy anything, would they still want me to have a nice day? After they say the same thing 1000 times, do they really mean it, or are they just repeating it out of habit?
There is a sincerity about Thanksgiving. It’s my favorite holiday. Friends and family gather around and give thanks for the meal, but I’ve always wanted used it for reflection but I’m usually distracted by my fussing. Who can I call to say hello? Who do I wish was at dinner that is no longer with us? What do I really need to be thankful for? How will I take show my thankfulness? That’s thanksgiving to me.
I love the turkey, I love the stuffing, I love the green bean casserole, I love the pumpkin chiffon pie, but way more than that, I love the feeling.
After Thanksgiving comes the panic before Christmas: the list, the shopping, the 4am door buster sales, the traffic, the hustle bustle, more Christmas concerts that you can imagine. Perhaps you may be forgetting that “saying thanks” thing that you promise to do at Thanksgiving. Let me to awaken you to the reality of Thanksgiving and the promise of Christmas.
The simple answer is: saying thanks.

